Connectivity: My PLN

When teachers hear “professional learning network” I think most of us will assume this includes our teacher friends, and our building colleagues. Being a recent graduate, and a current part of the Masters in Education Technology program at MSU, I consider my MSU cohorts part of my PLN.

What most of us don’t realize, is that our PLNs are cover the breadth and depth of our entire teacher community. Do you search Pinterest for teaching ideas? It is part of your PLN. Do you ever read educational articles posted by the Huffington Post or the New York Times? They are part of your PLN. Your PLN is something greater that what you may realize right now.

There is power in creating a vast PLN. Teachers who communicate with other teachers and other professionals are engaging in “instant PDs.” Professional development possibilities are infinite given the way we can utilize our devices. To illustrate my PLN, I chose to express it in a Prezi presentation. I wanted to create a mind map, that allowed me to freely consider all of the different networks I belong to. I have to put in a disclaimer: this list is nowhere near comprehensive. I will continue to tweak it and add to it as time goes on.

I challenge you to create your own PLN, in the form of a mind map. Regardless of your profession, you have built a network you may not even be aware of!

See my Prezi!

One thought on “Connectivity: My PLN

Leave a Reply

