Networked Learning Project: Grilling Complete!

In his book, The Anti-Education ERA, James Paul Gee asks: “What if human minds are not meant to think for themselves by themselves, but, rather, to integrate with tools and other people’s minds to make a mind of minds?” (Gee, 2013, p. 153). Gee calls this group of minds Minds. Gee (2013) says that a Mind is an “effective, well-integrated ‘humans as reciprocal tools for each other and non-humans’ network” (p. 165).

This network is what allows us to learn the guitar without paying for lessons, or to build a bookshelf without picking the brain of someone at Home Depot. Networked Learning has changed the way we communicate, collaborate and create.

In my #MAET course, I was asked to use online networks to learn something new. As was stated in my first Networked Learning Post, I am hardly a chef, and thus I chose to learn how to make turkey and chicken burgers. After gathering supplies, scouring cooking sites for safe grilling techniques and cooking my burgers, I reported my initial progress in my Networked Learning Update Post. In that first trial of my cooking, I found that it was quite simple to create these burgers. To simplify the recipes, so that they would be a reasonable meal on a weeknight, I took out some ingredients and found what was critical (panko bread crumbs) and what wasn’t (a clove of garlic).

I collaborated with the minds of BudgetBites and The Laughing Spatula to create my grilling masterpieces. I also consulted with the minds at Jennie-O during my process, to make sure my food was safe to eat. During my process, I modified the recipes, ultimately creating my own version of what I had pinned on Pinterest several months ago.

After perfecting my turkey burger recipe, I tackled the chicken burger in theYoutube video below. [if embedded content doesn’t load, use this link: https://youtu.be/oKVUFJ9i_U8%5D.

Recipes Modified

[Recipe Cards seen below, enlarged]

Recipe Cards created on Adobe InDesign
Recipe Cards created on Adobe InDesign

The final product took 20 minutes to cook fully. I would recommend cooking for longer than you expect with the chicken or turkey, to be safe.

Upon tasting the chicken burger, I have to admit, it wasn’t my favorite. It is safe to say that for both of these recipes, when I cook them in the future I will be using ground turkey only. The chicken burger was a bit mushy for my taste (also amplified by the avocado), while the turkey burger resembled a patty I might get at a restaurant.

Overall, the two blogs I used and the additional information from Jennie-O made this project possible. I found that using help forums for recipes is extremely common, and it made me less fearful in going forward. Through this project, my confidence in cooking has definitely increased. My next hurdle will take place in the kitchen (not on the grill), as I’ve decided my fall cooking adventures will include learning how to make homemade soup!

With only my mind, this project wouldn’t have been possible, but as Gee predicted, when I plugged into Minds, I found success in the kitchen!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Credit to:

Gee, J. (2013). The Anti-Education ERA: Creating Smarter Students Through Digital Learning (First ed.). New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

BudgetBytes.com

Chicken Avocado Burger

Jennie-O

Leave a Reply

